J Jaggers Wins Ohio State Male Athlete of the Year

 COLUMBUS, Ohio ““ Wrestler J Jaggers has been named the 2008-09 Ohio State Male Athlete of the Year, the department of athletics announced Tuesday. Jaggers, a Northfield, Ohio, native who won his second-consecutive NCAA title as a senior in 2009, is the first wrestler to earn the honor in the 28-year history of the award.

Before making his debut as the volunteer assistant coach of the Ohio State wrestling team next season, Jaggers will be known for leaving an impressive imprint on the two-time national runner-up Buckeyes. In 2009, the All-American joined an exceptional class of wrestling Buckeyes as the 141-pound national champion in back-to-back seasons in 2008 and 2009. He joins Tommy Rowlands, a 2002 and 2004 heavyweight champion and Kevin Randleman, the 177-pound champion in 1992 and 1993 in the elite group.

Ending his senior campaign with a 28-7 ledger, Jaggers completed his career with a remarkable 108-33 record as a three-time All-American and four-time NCAA qualifier.

After winning his first national championship in dramatic fashion where he held on for the title with 16 seconds left despite suffering a severe ankle injury, Jaggers successfully defended his title this past spring, proving “you don’t just stumble on two national championships.”

The 2008 Greater Cleveland Athletic Sports Commission Collegiate Athlete of the Year, Jaggers is a three-time National Wrestling Coaches Association All-Academic and two-time Academic All-Big Ten Team selection, as well as a three-time Ohio State Scholar-Athlete. He earned his bachelor’s degree in communication at the end of winter quarter. Jaggers is considering continuing his training in hopes of making the 2012 Olympic Team.

Jaggers moves on to the ballot for the Big Ten’s Jesse Owens Athlete of the Year award. Women’s basketball sophomore Jantel Lavender was named the Buckeyes’ female athlete of the year Monday.

Ohio State Male Athletes of the Year
Year Men Sport
1982 Art Schlichter Football
1983 Chris Perry Golf
1984 John Frank Football
1985 Robert Playter Gymnastics
1986 Mike Lanese Football
1987 Butch Reynolds Track/Field
1988 Chris Spielman Football
1989 Joe Greene Track/Field
1990 Mike Rancanelli Gymnastics
1991 Jim Jackson Basketball
1992 Jim Jackson Basketball
1993 Chris Nelloms Track/Field
1994 Chris Sanders Track/Field
1995 Blaine Wilson Gymnastics
1996 * Eddie George Football
1997 * Blaine Wilson Gymnastics
1998 Hugo Boisvert Hockey
1999 Scoonie Penn Basketball
2000 Jamie Natalie Gymnastics
2001 Jamie Natalie Gymnastics
2002 Raj Bhavsar Gymnastics
2003 Craig Krenzel Football
2004 Dan Taylor Track/Field
2005 Mike Nugent Football
2006 A.J. Hawk Football
2007 Troy Smith Football
2008 Andras Horanyi Fencing
2009 J Jaggers Wrestling
* Recipient of the Big Ten Jesse Owens Award

Wrestling Gear

Mat Wizard Hype
Mat Wizard Hype
Asics Dave Schultz Classic
Asics Dave Schultz Classic
JB Elite IV
JB Elite IV
Cael V6.0
Cael V6.0
Adidas Adizero
Adidas Adizero
Nike Hypersweep
Nike Hypersweep

Leave a Reply